Newbie - Completed my First F1 Car need help with second..

Area to upload images, movies, etc. of simulated F1 cars, i.e. models

Topic author
mickbench

Newbie - Completed my First F1 Car need help with second..

Post by mickbench »

Hi all,

This is my first post on here, but I've been reading some of the posts for the last few weeks. I'm a newbie F1 car model builder; well in fact I build car models. Have done since taking the hobby up 9 months ago, but i've just completed my first F1 car. I built the superb Tamiya RA 272 kitset, and thoroughly enjoyed it. I've attached two images of my F1 car, so as everyone can see how I did. I basically built the model out of the box, but added Auc Stion P/E parts, made my own fuel ines, drilled out the exhaust tips, removed the plastic air trumpets and installed turned metal parts and used Alclad II paints and cleared with X 22 clear after I had layed down TS 7 racing white and the decals. I know the end result was not totally accurate, and the wheels are not semi black, as I looked at ref: pictures and not many of the pictures I looked at had pure black wheels, but I had a damn good attempt...

For my next F1 car I intended to build the Tamiya Ferrari F1 2000 with SMS Super detail kit. However the Honda P/E was a lot simpler to work with, and I'm in the process of getting together some more practice. Therefore, I've just, and this wasn't easy as Revell kits are not the best, but I've just ordered the Revell Ferrari 2003 GA, regarded as perhaps the best of a OK ish bunch of F1 kits. T get some practice in and to get myself ready for the Ferrari F1 2000, that will I'm sure not be an easy build..

I've also ordered the SMS CF decals and P/E parts to get ready for SMS CF decals etc, but I was just wondering, has anyone used the SMS P/E set and does it come with the seatbelts, as well as the seatbelt buckles? If not has anyone any idea what I can use?