Hugeprong
F2 Champion
F2 Champion
Your Name: Hugo Pring
Favorite F1 Team or Driver: McLaren
Great Britain

MFH Guide to Applying Decals

Post by Hugeprong »

An interesting article appeared yesterday on MFH's main webpage regarding the application of MFH decals. It states that you should put their 1/12 decals into boiling water (95 - 100 Degrees Celcius) as this softens them properly before application.

Has anyone any experience of using water this hot on their decal sets?? It sounds rather extreme.

I have plenty of experience of MFH decals cracking when applied over curves or edges and I believe I am not alone with this issue. I now wonder if it was because I had only used warm, rather than boiling, water?

daniel
FOTA Chairman
FOTA Chairman
Favorite F1 Team or Driver: Schumacher
Germany

Re: MFH Guide to Applying Decals

Post by daniel »

I don't use boiling water...first it sounds a little extreme and also I have fear killing the decals immediately or burn my fingers.
But I use a hairdryer with complicated decals and it works perfect. But it's also a little extreme because decals get very soft and fragile but it will lay down perfect.
This technique needs a little practice and confidence :)

https://www.facebook.com/scale.details

gp-models
FOTA Chairman
FOTA Chairman

Post by gp-models »

Personaly i would not like it to be soft when i apply them, should cause problems too. Like Daniel i`m using a hairdryer before starting to lay them down to complex surfaces, but even this works not allways. If this not works, i take a cotton swab and dip it into water, then i press it on a heated solder iron for a few seconds and start to press it on the decal. This brings partly enough heat into the decal to soften it for a short time period, just enough to lay the decal down. Still using softener as well.