sky1911
Major Constructor
Major Constructor
Favorite F1 Team or Driver: Jim Clark, Lotus
Germany

Decanting paint, why?

Post by sky1911 »

Hi,

so I'm new to the whole airbrush game. Matter of fact, my compressor arrived on Friday and my gun will, most likely, arrive Monday or Tuesday. I have a bunch of testors paints that I've bought a while ago from the US and I intend of getting a few jars of Tamiyas X and XF paints. Now those jars are relatively expensive, ranging from ~2.80-5.30€ per 23 ml, some only come in 10 ml jars for about the same. However, all those are acrylic paints - at least according to my understanding of the matter. Now big T also sells big spraycans with 100ml of paint (TS, AS) series. Those, I believe, are lacquers, not acrylic based paints. Hence one can be thinned with water (acrylics) while the other (lacquers) need some alcohol based thinners. So it would seem the paints are different can and jar. I somehow thought they'd be the same, of course minus the aerosol release agent in the cans. So if they are not the same, what is the benefit of decanting TS paints from the can into a jar, having them degas and then thin them as needed. Surely there must be some difference - that apparently I am missing - outside the price difference: jar 23 ml fpr say 3.00€ average compared to 100 ml can for about 6-10€.
Also, I see this being done with the Tamiya Primers - why? Simply because better control can be had through the airbrush (with rated flow, pressure, plus a controlable trigger)? As far as I know there are now jars of primer from Tamiya - or I didn't find them during my research.

Anyway, I have a number of paints from the X and XF series in a shopping cart, ready to order for the WNW WW1 plane models, so I'm kinda curious if I should go forward with that or try and get similar TS cans to decant etc.
Cheers,
Roman

JamesB
FOTA Chairman
FOTA Chairman

Re: Decanting paint, why?

Post by JamesB »

You mostly answered yourself. :D and quite well.