MP4/20 - FINISHED!!!

Models in progress... including non-F1 models.

Topic author
BigDuke6
Major Constructor
Major Constructor

MP4/20 - FINISHED!!!

Post by BigDuke6 »

2020 Edit: Looks like the original photos are all dead links, thanks for the messages!

Here's a link to all the WIP and completed photos: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing

Finished photos:

Some WIP in random order, the rest in the Google Drive link above.

If there are any other threads with WIP or finished kits and the images are missing, just PM me.

Cheers,
-Mark
----------------------------------------
Thanks to Mtrspeed for selling me this kit!

I'm new to this S27 thing & what has struck me on this kit is the poor fit of the suspension. I checked & triple checked my test fits because usually its my poor building rather than the kit, but this time I'm 99% sure it's the kit.. specifically the front & rear lower wishbones & front push rods. Styrene sheet to the rescue here. Rear track rod has also been given a size increase.

Another strange thing on this kit is the floor.. it's completely flat - so deciding where to drill screw holes was a challenge. After lining up the nose section, I found that the rear diffuser wouldn't fit. I used the barge boards as a guide & remove a small part of the rear floor to fit the diffuser. The excess gaps were plugged with styrene.

Tyres have been replaced with FW24 "Michelins" which look more realistic. The S27 tyres look more like Bridgestones due to their curved side walls. The MP4/20 races in the only year with no [mandatory] tyre stops, so these should look good.

Pics are of suspension pieces, tyres & suspension test fit. I'm trying hard to get this fit perfect before I apply primer.. looking for a big improvement in build quality over the Lotus suspension-gate =)
Last edited by BigDuke6 on Fri Jan 10, 2020 9:16 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Jeff
FOTA Chairman
FOTA Chairman

Re: MP4/20

Post by Jeff »